We are here to help. Contact us.

Thought Leadership

Standards and Professional Affiliation

The efforts and insights of our researchers reach far beyond individual clients. They move our industry forward.

Our experts typically file for, and/or receive, more than 100 patents annually.  Each year, our researchers publish, submit or deliver hundreds of industry-leading books, papers and/or presentations.

Equally significant are the leadership roles and contributions we consistently provide to academic and government advisory boards, and virtually all of the industry's major standards bodies and professional societies. A sampling of those organizations and current or recent posts our experts have filled include:

Leadership on Professional Societies

  • IEEE Communications Society - Past-president, Vice-president, Treasurer, Board member
  • IEEE Laser & Electro-Optical Society (IEEE LEOS) - Annual meeting technical chair
  • Optical Society of America (OSA) - Member of committees on transmission systems and integrated photonics research and applications

Leadership on Standards Bodies

  • Allliance for Telecommunications Industry Solutions - Board member, sub-team leader on IPTV interoperability and broadcast IPTV QoS metrics
  • Optoelectronic Industry Development Association (OIDA) - Board member, Technical Advisory Board Chair, Executive Committee Member, Steering Committee Member, Board Treasurer
  • Optical Internetworking Forum (OIF) - Working Group Chair on Operations Administration, Maintenance, & Provisioning (OAM&P)
  • NIST - Smart Grids & Security Standards member
  • IEEE 802.21 - Chair, 802.21 Seamless Mobility
  • Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) - Member of working groups on IP MPLS VPN RFCs, HOKEY, PANA, MIPv6, and MIPSHOP protocol design; developer of method for EAP extension
  • 3GPP2 - Chair, Priority Services

Plus, active involvement in 14 other industry groups, including: Small Cells Forum, IEEE Standards Association, 3GPP, Open Mobile Alliance, SAE Avions System Division, ZigBee Alliance, and European Telecommunications Standards Institute.